Documents and Resolutions
Founding documents of the SEP
National Congress Resolutions
History of the SEP and the Fourth International

The Fourth International is the World Party of Socialist Revolution, founded by Leon Trotsky in 1938 to carry forward the fight for Marxism in opposition to the Stalinist degeneration of the Soviet Union and the Communist (Third) International.

The International Committee is the leadership of the Fourth International. It was established on November 23, 1953, following a split in the Fourth International between the orthodox Trotskyists, led by James P. Cannon, a founder of the Trotskyist movement in the United States, and an opportunist faction led by Michel Pablo and Ernest Mandel. Throughout its history, the ICFI has upheld the principles of Marxism and is today the sole representative of revolutionary socialism in the world.

Read more
Summer School and lecture series